How to find archived Instagram posts and stories on iPhone

Have you ever wanted to go back and relive a special Instagram moment only to discover that it had already passed after 24 hours? Fear not; Instagram has a hidden location for all of your posts and stories. Additionally, you can store those priceless moments in your archive rather than deleting them. But precisely where are they kept?

We’ll solve the puzzle and show you how to locate previously published Instagram posts and stories on your iPhone in this blog article.

What is Archive on Instagram, and how does it work? 

Users can temporarily remove content from their profiles by using Instagram’s Archive feature. Only you can see these archived posts, and you can always remove them.Additionally, archives also contain recordings of Instagram Stories and Lives.

As a result, it acts as a personal repository for your posts, allowing you to preserve and access them at a later time. What else can you use the Instagram archive for, though? I’ll give advice on how to get the most of this feature in this essay.

How to see archived posts and stories on Instagram from iPhone

  1. Open Instagram → Tap your profile picture at the bottom right.
  2. Tap the hamburger icon → Select Archive
    You will see your Stories archive.

    Tap on Archive in Instagram app
    •  You can use the calendar icon to search for Instagram stories that have been archived by date and location from this page. A lengthy calendar beginning with the month you joined Instagram will be displayed. To view the Stories posted on a particular day, choose a date.
    • A map will be saved with the position of any location stickers you add to your Stories. When you tap the map icon next to the Stories archive, you will see the Stories locations.

      Tap calendar or map icon to find archived Stories on Instagram  

Now, what about archived posts? To get your hidden posts: 

  1. Tap the down arrow next to the Stories archive. 
    You’ll see Stories archive, Posts archive, and Live archive.
  2. Select Posts archive
    It will show the photos and videos you have archived.

    Find archived stories and posts on Instagram

You no longer need to delete any Instagram feed post just because it features your ex or you don’t want it to appear on your profile anymore.

Instead, archive those Instagram posts on your iPhone and keep them under wraps. To do that.

How to archive Instagram posts on iPhone

  1. Go to your Instagram → Tap your profile.
  2. Tap and hold the post you want to hide.
  3. Select Archive.

    Touch and hold the post and select Archive on Instagram  

Besides, you may hide multiple posts simultaneously, saving time and effort. For that:

  1. Go to your Instagram profile and tap the hamburger icon.
  2. Tap Your activity → Select Posts.

    Tap on Posts under Your activity on Instagram
  3. Long press and select posts.
    • The posts can be filtered by date and sorted by time. For instance, choose All dates and select Last month from the box to view the posts from the previous month. 
  4. Tap Archive and confirm your choice.

    Select the posts and tap on Archive in Instagram    

You cannot manually conceal a story in Stories. After 24 hours, stories that have expired are automatically archived. The story won’t be archived if you delete it before it expires. Download the photo or video and then erase the article if you wish to hide it. Therefore, you can upload it again later. 

How to unarchive Instagram posts on iPhone 

I appreciate the Archive feature’s ability to restore any hidden posts to my profile the most. Unarchived Instagram posts will appear in the same spot on your feed with all comments and likes. Yes, even when you archive the post, the likes and comments will always be there.

  1. Go to your profile → the hamburger menu → Archive.
  2. Under Posts archive, tap and hold the post.
  3. Select Show on profile.

    Tap on Show on profile to unarchive an Instagram post  

How to share a story from your archive on Instagram

Not only posts, but you can also share your archived stories again. Only it will be published as Memories with the original upload date. 

  1. Go to your profile → the hamburger menu → Archive.
  2. Under the Stories archive, select a story.
  3. Tap Share.
  4. Add text, music, or stickers, and tap Send icon.
  5. Tap Share.  

 Please take note that in order to conserve storage space, some of your stories may be altered before being stored to your archive. For instance, after 60 days after publication, video stories and my stored tales with music stickers were frozen. These archived tales won’t have any removed sections if you share them again.

Therefore, I prefer to share the story as a feed post.  

  1. Open Instagram archives.
  2. Select the story.
  3. Tap the three dots icon → Share as post.  
    You may also save the story on your camera roll by selecting Save photo.
  4. Edit the image (optional) and tap Next.
  5. Add a caption and tap Share.

Add archived story to Instagram Highlights 

Using Instagram Highlights is a fantastic way to keep your story alive forever. You can use your older stories in addition to the current story to make a highlight.

  1. Open your profile on Instagram.
  2. Swipe right on the highlights under your bio.
  3. Tap New
  4. Select the stories and tap Next.
  5. Enter a highlight name and add a cover.
  6. Tap Done → Add.     

You may modify the existing ones if you don’t want to create a new highlight. 

  1. Open a highlight.
  2. Tap the three dots icon at the bottom right → Choose Edit highlight.
  3. Select the Stories tab.
  4. Choose the achieved stories.
  5. Tap Done.   

Delete a story from the archive 

If there’s a clutter of archived stories, you may miss out on your important memories. So, I prefer to delete archived stories on Instagram.

FAQ

Can I disable saving Stories to the Instagram archive? 

If you don’t want to save your stories to archives, disable the feature. Go to your Instagram archives → Tap the three dots icon → Settings → Toggle off Save story to archive. Note your stories will now be permanently deleted after 24 hours.

Walk down your memory lane!

You have freedom and control over the content of your profile thanks to the Archive feature, which lets you view and restore your archived entries whenever you like. So you can keep your profile edited and structured while still having the opportunity to go back and reshare them. It’s especially helpful for deleting posts without losing them that might not fit with your current style or theme.

Read More :-

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Name

Leave a comment